Oasis Preservation Center Ecological Practices Research Group Final Review 12/5/13

Oasis Preservation Center
Ecological Practices Research Group
Final Review
12/5/13

Name: Eric Becker

Hip-Hop Artist Stage Name: Poetry

Hometown: Niagara Falls, NY

Current Location: Buffalo, NY

Birth Date: November 20

Ethnicity: African American

Education: Erick Road Elementary School, Edward Town Middle School, Niagara Wheatfield Senior High School, ITT Technical Institute, SUNY Empire State College, the State University of New York at Buffalo (SUNY)

Occupation: Masters of Architecture Alumnus, Hip-Hop Recording Artist, Visual Artist, Poet, Philosopher, Photographer, Public/Innovational Speaker for Project Future WNY at Niagara Falls High School and LaSalle Prep Middle School, and Activist

Associations/Organizations: Chair of the University at Buffalo Senate Graduate Student Association (GSA) Election Committee, Officer of Public Relations for the University at Buffalo’s National Organization of Minority Architecture Students chapter (ubNOMAS), Alternate Senator of the University at Buffalo’s ArchGSA, member of the University at Buffalo’s Senate GSA “South Campus Rejuvenation Committee,” Chaperone at Frank Lloyd Wright’s Graycliff Estate

Awards/Merits: High-Honors and Honors awards at ITT Technical Institute. Received the Allentown Visual Society’s 2010 Visual Arts Scholarship at SUNY Empire State College.

Click on Philosophical Photography

Click on Philosophical Photography and Poetic Photography. 2012

EDUCATIONAL/PROFESSIONAL BIO

The first emergence of my architectural creativity began around 10-13 years old when I started creating cardboard models of extreme skate parks, hockey arenas, baseball stadiums, hockey/baseball equipment, and a playpen for my pet hamster.

Edward Town Elementary School “007 Jazz Band”

I began pursuing an architectural career when I attended ITT Technical Institute in Getzville, NY in 2006 until 2008, graduating with an Associates of Computer Aided Drafting & Design degree. I was fortunate enough to work as a Federal Work Study employee at ITT Tech, learning leadership and problem solving skills. I primarily assisted the Systems Support Technician and the librarian. My artwork and computer renderings has been framed and shown to prospective students looking to pursue a CAD degree.

2012. Hover above Civil Engineering to pull-down the Campo Volantin Footbridge tab

2012. Hover above Civil and Structural Engineering to pull-down the Campo Volantin Footbridge tab

I continued these pursuits by attending SUNY Empire State College for a Bachelors of Visual Arts in 2009 until 2011. Once again, I was fortunate enough to become a Federal Work Study employee at SUNY ESC, primarily assisting the Records Coordinator and interacting with students, vendors, and faculty and staff as a receptionist. My artwork and poetry has been showcased at SUNY Empire State College’s student art shows several times.

Click on “Artwork”

I have completed the Masters of Architecture at the State University of New York (SUNY) at Buffalo in the Summer of 2015.

2013. Hover above Architecture, pull-down the Oasis Preservation Center tab, then click on Final Presentation

2013. Hover above Architecture, pull-down the Oasis Preservation Center tab, then click on Final Presentation

ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN SYNOPSIS

I have acquired a vast taste of architectural styles. I think certain designs call for the practicality of architects like Renzo Piano and Richard Meier, focusing on the beauty of the simplicity of design, function, and conventionality. By doing this, I think architects highlight other aspects of design, like light and materiality. The underlying focus within these designs is not making an intentional architectural statement. The focus is the beauty and “cleanness” of a “light touch.”

EdB CONIBEAR FINAL

2013. Hover above “Construction Technology” then click “Conibear Shellhouse”

However, I am fascinated by designs of complex and creative originality. I think architects and engineers revolutionize the skill of design, therefore we should evolve what is expected by pushing the limits of materials, spaces, and gravity. Architects I find fit this category are I.M. Pei, Frank Lloyd Wright, and Norman Foster.

Final Board

I love to become inspired and incorporate themes of nature into design. I think architecture can combine a synthesis of civil and structural engineering, sculpture, and mathematics, creating unique and breath-taking spaces. I have become inspired by engineers like Dr. Santiago Calatrava, Felix Candella, and Dr. Pier Luigi Nervi.

2/11/14 promotional use only

2/11/14
promotional use only

2/4/14 (promotional use only)

Hover your mouse above Civil & Structural Engineering, then click on Chestnut Ridge (precedent analysis)

2/6/14 (promotional use only)

2/6/14
(promotional use only)

also do think it is important to include past influences of designers, architects, and engineers, paying homage to their discoveries and signature styles. I think , by doing this, there is a certain limit an architect, designer, and engineer can express. Contrarily, this should not to be confused with imitaton.

Hover over 3-Dimensional Models then click on “Water Falling” 2012

OpenGap 2013 Market Competition Team: Eric Becker, Jared Passen, Gary Chung, Dylan Burns, and Georine Pierre

OpenGap
2013 Market Competition
Team: Eric Becker, Jared Passen, Gary Chung, Dylan Burns, and Georine Pierre

Finally, I think it is essential that every architect contributes to the rhetoric of design. Every architect must take an original idea and master its capabilities, inspiring others as if to open their eyes to a new way of thinking, a new approach to design. Examples of this include Santiago Calatrava’s unique forms, naturalistic structural emphasis, and mechanical buildings & bridges. I am inspired by Frank Lloyd Wright’s genius in the Prairie style, light design, and space manipulation. Wright’s other strong-point was his appreciation for and integration of nature. I am also inspired by I.M. Pei’s Chinese influence and wizardry of mathematical proportion, specializing in the geometry of the triangle.

INFLUENCE + INNOVATION 

I am fascinated by combining architecture with scultpure, painting, and civil & structural engineering. Besides incorporating an “eye” shaped light-well in my designs, I am currently attempting to discover a topic worth pursuing for a PhD dissertation. My fellow employees, most of which are PhD doctorates are currently pursuing and/or defending their topics, believe that is where I am headed.

I do not think I have the interest in pursuing a PhD in an architectural discipline. I believe I will discover it while combining architecture with sculpture, engineering, physics, and other branches of mathematics. I am fascinated in mechanics. I would like to learn how to create structures and bridges that can move, allowing natural light to filter deep into the “heart” of the building, reducing annual electrical costs.

Hover over Photography then click on “Philosophical Photography” 2011

Besides a doctoral influence on design, I would like my designs to be concetrated around interconnecting functionality with art. Incorporating principles of complex mathematics, I believe, makes a design intellectually special, being one of accomplishment and triumph. By taking bits of pieces of the masters of design I am inspired by, I will create my own rhetoric or language of design. The principle objectives being natural light, illumination, functionality, and uniqueness. These four objectives become harmonized by the choice of texture and color of the materials chosen to invigorate each space.

Hover over 3-Dimensional Models then click on “Water Falling”

The architect, when devising a design solution, should have the mind of an architect, photographer, and pedestrian. An architect combines the vision and imagination of the photographer, the needs of the pedestrian, while mandating the freedom of design with the intelligence of an architect.

Click on “Artwork”

Some of my signature features I like to accommodate my designs are rock gardens, indoor planters, dropped beams & ceilings, reflective pools, light-wells, skylights, and exposed structural columns. I like to decorate spaces with cove lighting, sculpture, paintings, and stained art glass. Some of my materials of choice are marble, granite, wood with beautiful grain patterns, and glass.

Hover over Photography then click on “Philosophical Photography” 2011

About Eric Becker

The first emergence of my architectural creativity began around 10-13 years old when I started creating cardboard models of extreme skate parks, hockey arenas, baseball stadiums, hockey/baseball equipment, and a playpen for my pet hamster. I began pursuing an architectural career when I attended ITT Technical Institute in Getzville, NY in 2006 until 2008, graduating with an Associates of Computer Aided Drafting & Design degree. I was fortunate enough to work as a Federal Work Study employee at ITT Tech, learning leadership and problem solving skills. I primarily assisted the Systems Support Technician and the librarian. My artwork and computer renderings has been framed and shown to prospective students looking to pursue a CAD degree. I continued these pursuits by attending SUNY Empire State College for a Bachelors of Visual Arts in 2009 until 2011. Once again, I was fortunate enough to become a Federal Work Study employee at SUNY ESC, primarily assisting the Records Coordinator and interacting with students, vendors, and faculty and staff as a receptionist. My artwork and poetry has been showcased at SUNY Empire State College's student art shows several times. I am currently accepted into the State University of New York at Buffalo's Masters of Architecture program, beginning in the Fall of 2011. I do plan on enrolling, if possible, into a civil and structural engineering program after I complete the masters of architecture. My ultimate, life-long goal is to receive a PhD.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Mike Becker says:

    Very nice Eric! You have a great future in front of you. I’m sure I don’t need to tell you since it looks like you already are, but make the most of it!

  3. Kate Herzog says:

    Eric, this is truly an impressive portfolio. Kudos! And keep on “keepn’ on”.

    Miss Kate

  4. Marylou says:

    It’s nearly impossble too find well-informed peoplle
    onn tthis topic, but you sond like yyou knkw what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

Leave a comment